Meet this week’s featured artist and staff member, Martha Campbell.  Our newest intern, she started in June this year (just in time to jump right in to Paint Annapolis!):

 

ME:  I am a native-born Annapolitan currently attending Broadneck High School (BHS) and I will be a senior in the fall. I am the head of the Film Honors Society, president of the International Thespian Society, head of the BHS Cappies Critics, and participate in drama club, improve club, and Ultimate Frisbee.

 

IMG_6261

MY ART:   In addition, I am a two-time award-winning filmmaker/cinematographer. Last year I won the BHS Underground Film Festival award for Best Technical Film and this year for Best Overall Film. My style changes depending on what is going on in my life. I pull inspiration mostly from my everyday experiences and from pop culture. Last year, while I was still getting accustomed to creating and producing films, I leaned a lot on my Shakespearian background for content by taking scripts and filming them in minimalist ways. Now I am working on comedy with a series I am producing called Two Guys on a Couch, the first of which won the Best Overall award at my school’s Film Festival. The premise of these shorts is simply two guys on a couch having bizarre discussions, sometimes with unusual circumstances. I try to make the films feel as awkward as I can by using very little sound and minimal dialogue. I may not have fancy equipment or amazing software but I try so hard to film art that best creates or recreates my emotions. Check out my films here.

MFA & ME:   MFA is one of the most unique job experiences I’ve ever had. Working here has pulled back the curtain of the art world for me; it’s not all sparkles and champagne, a lot of hard work goes into creating the presentation that everyone else gets to enjoy, and everything I have accomplished here feels so rewarding. I may just be an intern, but I still feel like a necessary cog in this machine. The MFA is filled with creative, funny, and beautiful people and I feel honored to work with and for all of you.

 

 

Spread the word about…YOU! Every week, we feature an MFA member for “Me & My Art Monday.” If you would like to be featured, please submit a photo and three paragraphs: one each about YOU, YOUR ART, and MFA & YOU totaling approximately 350 words, to meandmyart@mdfedart.org.

Leave a Reply

