Meet this week’s featured artist, Sarah Salomon, member since 2015:

ME: My name is Sarah Hood Salomon and I’m a fine art photographer. I live in Bethesda and work out of a converted garage space on the side of my house. I’m married and have 3 wonderful children and new granddaughter. I began taking photographs in high school and have been addicted ever since.  I worked as a freelance photographer for about 20 years, but took time off to raise my family. Now that my kids are grown, I’m pursing the artistic side of photography.

Sarah Hood Salomon photo (1 of 1)

 

MY ART: I use my photography to explore the emotional aspects of the world around me. I have an upcoming show at the Waverly Gallery in Bethesda, May 10 – June 4, 2016. It is called, “Solitudes,” and is about urban isolation.  People seek privacy in various ways. Self-imposed seclusion is on greater display in a public place. The anonymity of a city allows, and forces, people to withdraw into their own spaces. Crowded settings provide opportunities for individuals to be overlooked; un-peopled places create an anteroom for lonely souls.

I utilize camera motion and slow shutter speeds to add a layer of anonymity to the subjects.  By moving the camera while the shutter is open,  familiar objects are slightly abstracted to reveal a more lyrical and universal moment. Characteristics are obscured so a viewer might recognize themselves in a similar reverie.
If you’d like to see more of my work, please visit my website; www.sarahhoodsalomon.com

MFA and ME: I joined MFA after seeing the fantastic exhibition opportunities they offer to artists. I’ve been in several group shows, and I am impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of the staff and volunteers.

 

A Windy Afternoon (1 of 1)

Spread the word about…YOU! Every week, we feature an MFA member for “Me & My Art Monday.” If you would like to be featured, please submit a photo and three paragraphs: one each about YOU, YOUR ART, and MFA & YOU totaling approximately 350 words, to meandmyart@mdfedart.org.

Leave a Reply

