Meet this week’s featured artist Carol Carpenter, member since 2015:

Carol Carpenter PhotoME: My name is Carol Carpenter. I am a professional artist residing in Columbia, Maryland since 1978. Born in Baltimore, Maryland in 1948, I am a graduate of Antioch University with a dual major in Art and Psychology. I began seriously painting and exhibiting in the 80’s as one of the original 30 artists who created and renovated the Old Savage Mill, Savage, Maryland into gallery and studio space. Currently I work in my home studio in Columbia. I am recently retired from my teaching job at Howard Community College where I taught painting to Seniors for over 35 years. In addition to my art career, I have worked as a research associate in mental health at the National Institute of Mental Health, The Albert Einstein College of Medicine, and the Maryland Psychiatric Research Center of the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

 

MY ART: Painting has been the joy of my life. It encompasses passion, spontaneity, intellect and self-discovery. Inspired by artists of modern art, I am an intuitive painter mystified by the ever changing elements and beauty in nature. I enjoy abstracting and reinventing familiar forms to create new images that stimulate the imagination. Employing multi-media techniques in oil, acrylic and watercolor paint, I use color as my primary tool to transmit energy, meaning and emotion in my work. My technique is improvisational; my inspiration experiential. I begin by pouring, washing and spraying pigment onto a surface to create an abstract under painting. By this process, images emerge which suggest scenes or elements in nature. With the aid of photographs and computerized images, I choose a color palette, layering paint to reinforce the composition with line, shape and value, transitioning from abstract forms to semi-representational images suggesting new vistas.

To view my website visit: www.carpenterfineart.com

I am currently represented by Agora Gallery, located in New York City. To view the online gallery, opening reception exhibition and press release click on:

http:/www.art-mine.com/artistpage/carolcarpenter.aspx

Upcoming solo exhibitions include:

Peninsula Gallery – Rehoboth Art League, June 9-August 10, 2016, Millsboro, Delaware

Brookside Gardens Gallery – The Atrium, August 22-September 26, 2016, Wheaton, Maryland

Agora Gallery – Collective, July 8-28, 2016, New York City

%22Sierra II%22 by Carol CarpenterMFA and ME: I am a new member of MFA since 2015, and have participated in three collective exhibitions receiving very positive feedback and acceptance of my work. The most important and valuable feature of this organization has been the wonderful opportunity for exposure, utilizing highly recognized curators to judge and select the art for the many competitive exhibitions produced by MFA. For this I am grateful and hope for a continued relationship with an exceptional group of artists.

 

Spread the word about…YOU! Every week, we feature an MFA member for “Me & My Art Monday.” If you would like to be featured, please submit a photo and three paragraphs: one each about YOU, YOUR ART, and MFA & YOU totaling approximately 350 words, to meandmyart@mdfedart.org.

Leave a Reply

