This week’s featured artist:   Pat O’Brien, new member:

ME:  I am a Pittsburgh native who moved to Baltimore to begin my electrical engineering career with a defense company. Four children later, the call of my paint brushes lured me to pursue a career in art; particularly wall murals and work on canvas. My focus is now primarily contemporary figurative paintings and portraits on canvas, where I work at my studio in Cockeysville, Maryland.

My ART: My contemporary oil portraits and figurative paintings are an expression of humor, surprise, indifference, and the spectrum of emotions we all experience as we travel life’s journey. Choosing people as my subject matter affords me an endless source of possibilities for my paintings. Who should I paint? What will they be thinking, doing, and looking at? My work tells a story, encouraging the viewer to discover the narrative. My latest inspiration came from a recent visit to Miami, where I stood in awe and admiration of the abundant murals which cover the buildings in the Wynwood District. I couldn’t wait to return to my studio and begin creating my interpretation of the street art I loved. One of my latest paintings, Woman with Flowers, which can also be seen on my website, www.PatriciaOBrienArt.com  is the first in this series.

MFA and Me – I discovered the Maryland Federation of Art on a call for entry site and have been a fan ever since. The ideal location, friendly people, abundant exhibition opportunities and quality art displayed add up to a venue to delight any artist. There are so many opportunities to exhibit, share, advertise and promote, like Me and My Art!  Thank you for the support!

Lady with Three Flowers, oil by Pat o”Brien

 

 

Spread the word about…YOU:   Every week, we feature an MFA member for “Me & My Art Monday.” If you would like to be featured, please submit a photo and three paragraphs: one each about YOU, YOUR ART, and MFA & YOU totaling approximately 350 words, to meandmyart@mdfedart.org.

Leave a Reply

