This week’s featured artist:   Sharon Kelly, new member:

Sharon KellyME:  Born & raised in Montreal, Quebec, I am now living & raising my family in Ottawa, Ontario. Earlier in my life I studied art history at Queens University, with a focus on both Canadian art & the Renaissance periods. However, I always longed for a professional studio space filled with collection of creative people. A few years later, it happened. My studio is located in a light filled former horse stable, in Ottawa’s art district.

I am a self-taught artist, and have exhibited in several solo and group shows since 1999,
most recently, a solo show called Blue Minds, (Wall Space Gallery) titled after a novel by marine biologist Wallace J. Nichols. He writes about “The surprising science that shows how being near, in, on or under water can make you happier, healthier…..”.

 

Headed Towards the Ocean, mixed media on canvas, Sharon Kelly
Headed Towards the Ocean, mixed media on canvas, Sharon Kelly

MY ART:  

I love love love painting water themed abstract landscapes and spend as much time as I can ocean side for inspiration.
When I begin a landscape, I rarely have a preconceived notion of where the creative process will take me.
First I part the canvas into intersecting planes using my selected collage elements. Then I apply a multitude of acrylic mediums, allow the paint to yield to various textures and surfaces. In the end, the pigment reacts accordingly. My process is a combination of trial and error, random & controlled, hidden & obvious.

To view my art, here is the link: www.sharonkellystudios.com

MFA & ME:

In January 2016 I decided to do an internet search for International Art calls and I found the Maryland Federation of Art. Shortly afterwards I was thrilled to be selected for the Stormy Weather show. I knew I had to travel to Annapolis for the artist reception
so I could meet the super talented artists and their supporters. The experience did not disappoint. I am grateful for the warm reception & honoured to play a small part.

 

Spread the word about…YOU:   Every week, we feature an MFA member for “Me & My Art Monday.” If you would like to be featured, please submit a photo and three paragraphs: one each about YOU, YOUR ART, and MFA & YOU totaling approximately 350 words, to meandmyart@mdfedart.org.

Leave a Reply

