This week’s featured artist:  Rebecca Grace Jones, returning member:

IMG_2251ME:  I was born and raised in Hagerstown, Maryland into a family of artists where creativity was encouraged and nurtured. After graduating high school I moved to Baltimore, MD and majored in art at Towson University, earning both a BA and MFA.

I started my professional career as a freelance illustrator and graphic designer and for twelve years taught in the art department of my alma mater. In the 1990’s the computer took over my field and, frankly, I just couldn’t get into it. So I made the switch to fine craft and came up with a mixed-media product that I sold in galleries and stores around the country. Now in my early sixties, I’m concentrating solely on painting.

Untitled, acrylic, black and white charcoal, oil pastel, rice paper, ink, pellon, monoprint, by Rebecca Grace jones
Untitled, acrylic, black and white charcoal, oil pastel, rice paper, ink, pellon, monoprint, by Rebecca Grace jones

MY ART:   The people who connect with my paintings find them “seriously whimsical”. They recognize forms, both natural and structural, and are encouraged to explore the meanings that may or may not be implied. Much of my process and intent involves a dependence on the interpretation of the viewer.

The first thing I think about when starting a painting is allowing the character of each layer I apply to show through beneath the last, so that the surface is interesting and complex. I often scrape, sand, scratch and score the material, as well as cover over areas to start again. When that stage feels complete I then look for features to emphasize, and components and details to add, so that through the non-representational iconography that results, viewers are able to make up their own stories from the imagery they see.

I live in the country outside Shepherdstown, WV where my studio looks out onto fields and trees. I can’t help but be inspired and influenced by my surroundings and what I produce often depicts a reaction to the current season.  Visit my website and read my blog: www.rebeccagracejones.com

MFA & ME: I am a returning member to MFA after many years of not being involved here. Decades ago, when I lived in the area, I participated in many shows, including a solo, and was honored with some awards. I’m very happy to be a member again and look forward to a great experience!

 

Spread the word about…YOU:   Every week, we feature an MFA member for “Me & My Art Monday.” If you would like to be featured, please submit a photo and three paragraphs: one each about YOU, YOUR ART, and MFA & YOU totaling approximately 350 words, to meandmyart@mdfedart.org.

Leave a Reply

